Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress [Album]

Kaitlin Ruether, 4 years ago
Albums , , ,

To quote Monty Python, “and now for something completely different!” At least, that’s what I was thinking as I began listening to the first track of Godspeed You! Black Emperor‘s new album, Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, which they are streaming this week through The Guardian. This is because the first track, titled “Peasantry, or ‘Light! Inside of Light!'” explodes. It makes one feel as though they could take on anything.

“And now for something completely different,” I thought again as the second track started: a rumble of synthetic sound that slowly becomes rhythmic in its seeming chaos before disintegrating into something more fitting of its title “Lambs’ Breath”. My thought pattern continued through the album.

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress is only four songs long, but takes about 40 minutes to play through, and effectively hits almost every point on the emotional spectrum.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor are a “post-rock” band from Montreal, Canada. Their last album, Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, won the 2013 Polaris Music Prize. Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress will be out on March 31st, 2015 via Constellation Records.

Profile Status