Mark Peters and The Dark Band – Sum Of All Parts (EP)

Kaitlin Ruether, 1 year ago
EP & Mixtapes , ,

Once in a while, it’s the way a song affects physically that hooks you in. It could be in the stuttering of an anxious heartbeat rhythm, a falsetto that floats as though tied to a balloon, or just a drop in an unexpected place — music can travel inside of you. This is a concept that Mark Peters and The Dark Band understand well. 

Sum Of All Parts is Mark Peters’ first EP with The Dark Band, who give rise to levels and layers of sound. The songs launch from clear-country tones to folkier, dreamier soundscapes, but never relinquish a sense of emotional depth. With Fabian Natter on Drums, Martin Burtscher on Electric Guitar, and Markus Manahl on Bass, this is an offering from a collection of players that have locked into their sound.

The songs on Sum Of All Parts don’t strive to bring you up, but instead find lyrical strength in relating to the more difficult moments in life. Never wallowing, it’s clear that Peters is pushing through. You can hear this in “Failure is My Friend”, which finds the brightness in the consistency of failure, or in the grand rise and dip of “Bone Dry”. The opening track (watch the video above), hints at the pop-folk stylings of Manchester’s James and finds life in the twang and overlapping vocals. It’s a memorable introduction, and a sense of variation from this four-piece project. At all times, Peters’ has one eye on the challenge of overcoming. 

Sum of All Parts was released on January 14th, 2019. To hear more from Mark Peters, you can find him on his website, SoundCloud, and on Facebook.

Profile Status


%d bloggers like this: